• fr
  • en

Five golden rules for good copyright transfer with your service providers

The elements likely to be protected by copyright are often inherently linked to the first stages of company setup: creation of a logo, a visual identity, software, a website or app, a platform, product design, etc.

In this context, fully acquiring copyright from your service providers is key to constituting the assets of your company from the word “go”.

This article overviews 5 golden rules for good copyright transfers:

Rule n° 1: A simple service provision invoice is not sufficient

You are considering giving over the creation of your logo or the development of your application to a service provider or a freelancer. You may, in fact, have already done so. He or she is a friend, a connection, a friend of a friend, someone you trust or who is just helping out. Everything worked out very simply with this designer, but you still wanted to do things properly: you paid the person and have an invoice that mentions the nature of service provided.

Unfortunately, an invoice alone (even paid) is not sufficient to secure the transfer of copyright to your company.

It is essential to sign a detailed copyright transfer agreement, on the one hand to guarantee the very validity of the transfer, and on the other to determine the extent of the rights your company becomes the holder of (see rules 3 and 4 below).

Rule n° 2: The sooner the better

In your relationships with your service providers, it is highly recommended that you obtain and formalise any copyright transfer to your company as early as possible.

If you ask your service provider (designer, developer, graphic artist, etc.) to confirm the transfer of the rights attached to their creations prior to the completion of the project (and before settling the invoice), you will obtain it without difficulty. Not only will the principle of rights transfer be set as a condition for choosing the service provider, it will also be much easier to ask for the rights you need within their scope (territory, duration, source codes, etc.).

Conversely, when this discussion takes place after the completion of the tasks and without a written prior agreement, rights transfer frequently becomes the object of negotiations to a varying degree of complexity, and is likely to become an obstacle. The transfer of intellectual property rights or their broadened scope (adaptation rights, etc.) can be used as leverage by service providers to obtain price hikes.

This situation is frequent, so anticipate it!

Rule n° 3: Respect compulsory notices

According to the Code of intellectual property, a valid transfer of copyright must respect certain notices that determine the nature and the scope of the rights transferred (L.131-3).

Copyright transfer must therefore indicate:

  • The detail of each transferred right: reproduction rights, representation rights (public communication), adaptation rights, translation rights, etc.
  • The field of rights exploitation: the transfer agreement must determine as far as possible the destination of the creations and the transferred rights (the framework, the field and the authorised exploitation methods);
  • The duration and the territory(ies) covered by the rights transfer: the transfer can be granted for a limited duration or for as long as copyright is valid (usually until 70 years after the death of the author). The transfer can also be granted for one or several countries or worldwide, but this must be specified.

Although omitting these notices does not always call into question the actual validity of the transfer (in particular in the case of a transfer between two corporate entities), it is highly recommended to respect and detail these notices in all circumstances, in order to guarantee your company the scope of the rights it is acquiring and ensure it can enjoy them in full.

Rule n° 4: Determine to the best of your abilities the rights and exploitation you will need

Above and beyond the compulsory notices, the general rule as regards copyright is that “all rights that have not been expressly granted remain the property of the author “.

For instance:

  • The transfer of copyright on a website does not necessarily grant the right to use the same elements as an app;
  • The right to use a work as a book does not necessarily grant the right to use it in the press.

For this reason, practice consists in detailing (sometimes in-depth) the list of rights and uses covered by the transfer, as well as the different types of media on which the creations can be used, the methods of exploitation depending on usage, as well as creation modification or adaptation technical conditions.

These elements are often detailed in a relatively standardised way to try and cover the broadest types of use possible.

It is nevertheless advisable to pay particular attention to the content of rights transfer clauses, and to ensure that all uses likely to be considered by your company are covered by the transfer.

This exercises sometimes requires creativity and projection over time, but it is necessary to guarantee efficient copyright transfer.

Rule n° 5: The importance of guarantees

The transfer of copyright directly involves a transfer of responsibility. By using the creations, your company will become legally responsible of them vis-à-vis third parties. This responsibility can be brought into question if a third party considers that the creation violates their own intellectual property rights (counterfeit).

As regards the transfer of rights, you must therefore obtain from the author (your service provider) that he or she guarantees (financially in particular) against legal actions from third parties as regards the creations of which he or she transferred the rights.

These guarantees are all too often forgotten or neglected, while they are crucial to the proper use of the rights.

***

For startups, the rules applicable to copyright transfers often seem too complex or unnecessary. Your service providers create your logo or one of your software bricks without asking anything from you apart from payment on the basis of simple quotes and invoices, but your legal counsel or investors will ask you to sign a five-page legal document that focuses entirely on the transfer of intellectual property rights.

Unfortunately, valid and efficient transfer of copyright cannot be brought down to a simple handshake with your service providers. Respecting the rules indicated above is certainly restrictive, but absolutely vital.

Examples abound of startups (and even of well-established companies) that fell into the hands of blackmailers or that had to hold back their development because of intellectual property disputes. Those who had to change – or buy back, for a fortune – their logo and their entire visual identity 18 months after setting up their business will be able to tell you their story…

• fr
  • en

Les 5 règles d’or pour une bonne cession de droits d’auteur

Les éléments susceptibles d’être protégés par le droit d’auteur sont souvent intrinsèquement liés aux premières démarches d’une entreprise : création d’un logo, d’une identité visuelle, d’un logiciel, d’un site internet ou d’une application, d’une plateforme, du design d’un produit, etc.

Dans ce cadre, l’acquisition pleine et entière des droits d’auteur auprès de vos prestataires est un élément clé pour la constitution des actifs de votre société, dès le démarrage de votre activité.

Voici les 5 règles incontournables d’une bonne cession de droits d’auteur.

Règle n°1 : Une simple facture de prestation de service ne suffit pas

Vous envisagez de (ou vous avez déjà) confié la création de votre logo ou le développement de votre application à un prestataire tiers ou à un freelance. C’est un ami, une connaissance, un ami d’ami, quelqu’un de confiance ou qui vous a rendu service. Tout s’est fait très simplement avec ce prestataire, mais vous avez tenu à faire les choses bien : vous l’avez donc payé et vous disposez d’une facture qui mentionne la nature de ses prestations.

Malheureusement, une simple facture (même acquittée) n’est pas suffisante pour sécuriser le transfert des droits d’auteur à votre société.

La signature d’un contrat de cession de droits détaillé est indispensable, d’une part pour garantir la validité même de la cession, et d’autre part pour déterminer la portée des droits dont votre société devient titulaire (cf. les règles 3 et 4 ci-dessous).

Règle n°2 : The sooner the better

Dans vos relations avec vos prestataires, il est vivement recommandé d’obtenir et de formaliser toute cession de droits au profit de votre société le plus tôt possible.

Si vous demandez à votre prestataire (designer, développeur, graphiste, etc.) de vous confirmer la cession des droits attachés à ses créations avant la réalisation du projet (et avant le versement de sa rémunération), vous l’obtiendrez sans difficulté. Non seulement le principe de la cession des droits sera posé comme une condition du choix de ce prestataire, mais il vous sera également nettement plus facile d’exiger les droits que vous souhaitez dans leur portée (territoire, durée, remise des codes sources, etc.).

Lorsque cette discussion intervient au contraire postérieurement à la réalisation des prestations et sans accord formalisé au préalable, la cession des droits devient fréquemment un sujet de négociation plus ou moins complexe susceptible d’être bloquant. La cession des droits de propriété intellectuelle ou leur portée élargie (droit d’adaptation, etc.) est parfois utilisée par les prestataires comme un argument pour solliciter des compléments de prix.

Cette situation est fréquente, alors anticipez là !

Règle n°3 : Respecter les mentions impératives

Le Code de la propriété intellectuelle conditionne la validité d’une transmission de droits d’auteur au respect de certaines mentions permettant de déterminer la nature et la portée des droits cédés (L.131-3).

Une cession de droits d’auteur doit ainsi préciser :

  • Le détail de chacun des droits cédés : droit de reproduction, droit de représentation (communication au public), droit d’adaptation, de traduction, etc.
  • Le domaine d’exploitation : l’acte de cession doit déterminer tant que possible la destination des créations et des droits cédés (le cadre, le domaine et les modes d’exploitation autorisés) ;
  • La durée et le(s) territoire(s) couverts par la cession de droits : la cession peut être consentie pour une durée limitée ou au contraire pour la durée des droits d’auteur (qui sont en vigueur le plus souvent 70 ans après le décès de l’auteur). La cession peut également être consentie pour un ou plusieurs pays, ou alors pour le monde entier, mais il faut le préciser.

Si en réalité l’absence de ces mentions ne remet pas toujours en cause la validité même de la cession (notamment dans le cas d’une cession entre deux personnes morales), il est hautement recommandé de respecter et de détailler ces mentions en toute circonstance, afin de garantir à votre société la portée des droits qu’elle acquiert et leur pleine jouissance.

Règle n°4 : Déterminer au mieux les droits et exploitations dont vous avez besoin

Au-delà des mentions impératives, la règle générale en matière de droits d’auteur veut que “tous les droits qui n’ont pas été expressément cédés restent la propriété de l’auteur”.

Par exemple :

  • La cession des droits sur un site internet n’emporte pas nécessairement le droit de réaliser et d’exploiter les mêmes éléments sous la forme d’une application ;
  • Le droit d’exploiter une œuvre sous forme d’édition n’emporte pas nécessairement le droit de la diffuser par voie de presse.

Pour cette raison, la pratique consiste à détailler, parfois longuement, la liste des droits et des exploitations couverts par la cession, mais également les différents types de supports sur lesquels les créations pourront être exploitées, les modes d’exploitation en fonction des usages, ainsi que les modalités techniques de modification ou d’adaptation des créations.

Ces éléments sont souvent détaillés de manière relativement standard, afin de tenter de couvrir les exploitations les plus larges possibles.

Il est néanmoins recommandé de porter une attention particulière au contenu des clauses de cession de droits, et de s’assurer que toutes les exploitations susceptibles d’être envisagées par votre société sont couvertes par la cession.

L’exercice nécessite parfois un peu de créativité et de projection dans le temps, mais il est nécessaire pour garantir l’efficacité d’une cession de droits.

Règle n°5 : L’importance des garanties

Le transfert des droits d’auteur implique directement un transfert de responsabilité. En exploitant les créations, votre société en deviendra responsable juridiquement à l’égard des tiers. Cette responsabilité peut être mise en jeu si des tiers considèrent que la création porte atteinte à leurs propres droits de propriété intellectuelle (contrefaçon).

Dans le cadre de la cession des droits, vous devez donc obtenir de l’auteur (votre prestataire) qu’il vous garantisse (notamment financièrement) contre tout recours de tiers concernant les créations dont il vous a cédé les droits.

Ces garanties sont trop souvent oubliées ou négligées, alors qu’elles sont déterminantes pour l’exploitation paisible des droits.

***

Les règles applicables aux cessions de droits d’auteur apparaissent souvent aux start-up comme étant trop complexes ou superflues. Vos prestataires ont créé votre logo ou l’une de vos briques logicielles sans rien vous demander et sur la base de simples devis/factures, mais vos conseils ou vos investisseurs vous demandent finalement de faire signer un document juridique de 5 pages uniquement consacré à la cession des droits de propriété intellectuelle.

Malheureusement, une cession de droit d’auteur valable et efficace ne se réalise pas en “tapant dans la main” de vos prestataires. Le respect des règles rappelées ci-dessus est donc contraignant, mais nécessaire.

Les exemples ne manquent pas de start-up (et même d’entreprises bien installées) tombées sur des maître-chanteurs ou freinées dans leur développement par des litiges de propriété intellectuelle. Ceux qui ont été contraints de changer – ou de racheter à prix d’or – leur logo et toute leur identité visuelle 18 mois après le lancement leur activité pourront vous en parler…